Australian Community Industry Standard - Certification

ACIS Standard has been around for more than a decade and has been utilised by NDIS to develop its standards.  ACIS is the first nationally accredited (JAS-ANZ certified) standard to apply a human-rights based framework, align current contemporaneous and evidenced based guidelines to its processes, embed leadership, mental health, assistive technology,  positive behavioural support, clinical governance, governance and person centred care into one standard. 

It is reviewed in its entirety every three years.

Its auditors are formally trained in ACIS as well as being credentialed as lead auditors and assessed by JAS-ANZ.

It samples across disability, NDIS, aged care, community care, private and insurance clients (except residential care) to support continuity and streamlined systems & processes. It uses international guidelines for sampling and auditing.


Like its predecessor, the Attendant Care Industry Management System Standard (ACIMSS), and the Attendant Care Industry Standard (ACIS) The Australian Community Industry Standard (ACIS) is the national quality management standard that specifically addresses the provision of attendant care services. Providers operating in accordance with ACIS can gain acia-endorsed certification through a certification body accredited by the Joint Accreditation System of Australia and New Zealand (JAS-ANZ). Achieving certification to ACIS is a rigorous undertaking that requires service providers to achieve demonstrable quality outcomes for service users. 

ACIS Standards

Purchase the ACIS Standards by emailing ACIA.

ACIA Scheme

Purchase the ACIS Scheme Guidelines that covers the specifics of how the Scheme must be managed.

Start or Renew ACIS

Purchase the Self Assessment, Practice Guidelines and Benchmarking Tool, as well as complete ACIS Certification Enrolment Application.

ACIS Advisory Notes

Additional Advisory Notes are periodically released to update the current Scheme and are available here.